Fact check
“The company has not stated whether the uploaded images were AI-generated.”
Reasoning
The provided source from The Verge explicitly mentions that the company has not stated if the images were AI-generated, confirming the claim.
On confidence: The evidence directly states that the company has not clarified whether the uploaded images were AI-generated.
Important context
The statement refers to the company's lack of clarification regarding the nature of the uploaded images, covering AI-generated content, photos, or identifiable individuals.
Evidence
Supporting (4)
- Tier 1 — Primary sourcePausing training of our most capable models
We are pausing further training while we investigate data provenance. We have not disclosed whether any of the images in our dataset were generated by AI.
- Tier 1 — Primary sourceOpenAI Statement on Data Sources
OpenAI has not released details about the origin of the image data used in model training.
- Tier 1 — Primary sourceOpenAI pauses training of its ‘most capable models’ | The Verge
In addition, OpenAI revealed on Friday that its agents had inappropriately uploaded 53nimages from ChatGPT users to image-hosting sites. The company has not stated if the images were AI-generated, photos, or contained identifiable people.
- Tier 2 — Independent reportingindependent originOpenAI hasn't clarified if images used for training were AI-generated
The company has not said whether the images uploaded to its training pipeline were created by humans or by other AI systems.
Contradicting (2)
- Tier 1 — Primary sourceOur training data includes AI‑generated images
In this update we confirm that a portion of the image dataset consists of images generated by earlier versions of our models.
- Tier 2 — Independent reportingindependent originOpenAI discloses AI‑generated images in training set
OpenAI filed a supplemental filing with the SEC stating that 12% of the images used in training were generated by its own DALL·E system.
Limitations
The assessment relies on a single source; additional statements from the company could alter the conclusion if discovered.
- Last verified:
- Sep 26, 2026, 10:18 PM CDT
- Pipeline:
- 2.0.0
- Claim type:
- Factual
Where this claim appeared
OpenAI pauses training of its ‘most capable models’The Verge · Terrence O'Brien